Cypress Hill Biography And Top 10 Songs

I have always liked Cypress Hill since the release of their first album. I remember hearing the single How I Could Just Kill A Man and thought B-Real had an amazing rapping voice, the sound and beat was good, and I was already into Rap at the time. Since then they have become one of my favourite bands to chill to and I listen to them quite a bit. I find most people know a few of their songs or have at least heard of them, which is good because I talk to a lot of people about some of the stuff I listen to and they have no idea what I'm talking about.

Cypress Hill are a mainly Latin American Hip-Hop group and formed in California. They have gained much popularity over the years because they rap a lot about the legalisation of cannabis. Cypress Hill were the first Latin Rap group to have Platinum albums. The group consist of B-Real, Sen Dog, DJ Muggs and Eric Bobo. Mellow Man Ace also used to be a member (they were called DVX at that time) but left in 1988 then they changed to Cypress Hill.

The self titled debut Cypress Hill was released in 1991 and was an instant success and has become 2x Platinum, selling over 2million copies in the US alone. Soon after the release of the album, Cypress Hill performed at Lollapalooza in 1992 which helped to raise their public image and popularity. When Black Sunday was released in 1993 it went straight into the US album chart at #1 and the Cypress Hill album was still in the charts which made them the first Rap group to have two albums in the charts at the same time. The single Insane In The Brain's popularity helped the album to turn 3x Platinum.

Cypress Hill III: Temples of Boom was released in 1995 and saw a collaboration with Wu-Tang rappers Rza and U-God for the song Killa Hill Niggas. The album turned Platinum, selling over 1.5 million copies and also caused a feud between Ice Cube's band Westside Connection who claimed material was stolen from them. The feud was settled on a TV talk show and B Real and Ice Cube have worked together since then.

In 1996 Cypress Hill released the album Unreleased And Revamped which is kinda what it says on the tin. IV was released in 1998 and saw the group collaborate on the PC game Kingpin: Life Of Crime and 3 songs are included in the game and B Real provided voice samples for some of the games characters. When Skull & Bones was released in 2000 the Skull disc contained Rap songs and the Bones disc contained Rock songs. The album peaked the charts at #5. Live At The Filmore was also released in 2000.

Stoned Raiders was released in 2001 and is one of my Top 50 albums. The music from the song Lowrider has been used on many TV shows and movies since then. The album also contains collaborations with Method Man (Wu-Tang) and Redman and the song Here Is Something You Can't Understand is a sequel to their original song How I Could Just Kill a Man. The EP Stash was released in 2002 and is another remix album.

Till Death Do Us Part, released in 2004 shows a different side to Cypress Hill and is contains a more Reggae sound and features Damian Marley (Bob Marley's son). Greatest Hits From The Bong is another compilation album and was released in 2005. In 2007 Cypress Hill went on the Rock The Bells Tour alongside Wu-Tang, Public Enemy, Rage Against The Machine, Erykah Badu, Nas and others.

Cypress Hill are currently working on new material.

My Top 10 Cypress Hill Songs are:

01. Hits From The Bong
02. I Ain't Goin' Out Like That
03. I Wanna Get High
04. Lowrider
05. A To The K
06. How I Could Just Kill A Man
07. Rap Superstar
08. Ultraviolet Dreams
09. What Go Around Come Around Kid
10. Stoned Is The Way Of The Walk